The building housing the Bimini Museum was built in 1921 as the Commissioner's Office and jail, but it was abandoned in 1974. In 1999, it was restored by Sir Michael and Lady Barbara Checkly and contains historical artifacts, such as old cannon balls, photographs of Ernest Hemingway, and artifacts from the old Rod & Gun Club.
Today it is managed by Lady Barbara and Sir Michael Checkly residents of the island of Bimini that found an interest in keeping the museum functioning, because of their love for the island and it's rich history. So for this couple they took this as an opportunity to give back to the community of Bimini.
Persons in a wheelchair or those with mobility impairments will need assistance getting in, because of the entry staircase.
Pet Friendly Notes
Leashed pets are welcome, but must be controlled.
9:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Daily